The highest political and decision making body is the Nile Equatorial Lakes Council of Ministers (NEL-COM), comprised of Ministers in charge of Water Affairs in the Member States.

Roles and Responsibilities of the NEL-COM

  1. Approve annual work plan and budget
  2. Ensure smooth implementation of Nile Equatorial Lakes Council of Ministers’s activities
  3. Ensure government contribution from Member Countries as well as external support agencies and NGOs
  4. Appoint and terminate the services of the Executive Director on recommendation of the Nile Equatorial Lakes Technical Advisory Committee
  5. Take all policy and political decisions of the organization
  6. Approve the filling of other senior posts by the Nile Technical Advisory Committee


Hon. Dr. Mohamed Abdel Ati

Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation, Egypt

Hon. Motuma Mekasa Zeru

Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity, Ethiopia

Hon. Eugene L. Wamalwa, EGH

Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Water and Irrigation

Hon. Dr. Vincent Biruta

Minister of Natural Resources, Rwanda

hon mabior darang de mabior

Hon. Mabior Garang De Mabior

Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation
South Sudan

Hon. Amb. Mutaz Musa Abdalla Salim

Minister of Water Resources, Irrigation and Electricity

Hon. Eng. Gerson Lwenge (MP)

Minister of Water and Irrigation, Tanzania

Hon. Sam Cheptoris

Minister of Water and Environment, Uganda

The NEL-TAC is supported by the Nile Equatarial Lakes Technical Advisory Committee (NEL-TAC), comprised of 20 senior government officials, two from each of the Member States.

Roles and Responsibilities of the NEL-TAC

  1. Offer technical support and advice to the Nile Council of Ministers on matters related to the management and development of the Nile waters.
  2. Act as an interface between the NEL-COM and development partners, and between NEL-COM and the Secretariat, programmes and projects of the NBI.
  3. Provide oversight for NEL-COM programmatic activities.